Catching up

It’s been hard to reconnect with people that I used to be close with since moving back a little over a year ago. A lot can change in 9 years. Friends have gotten married, had children, found God, lost faith, had miscarriages, lost jobs, lost careers, started new businesses, started new jobs, gone to school, quit school, finished degrees.. I’ve certainly changed in a lot of ways since then, too.

Tonight my old roommate from almost 15 years ago stopped by. It was really good to see him. We were really good friends back then, but we’d lost touch for a number of years. It was great to hear what all he’s been up to, and that his younger brother is now married and has a child, as well as his older sister having recently been married and having a child as well. We spent a lot of time talking about anything from love to movies to politics and everything in between. There aren’t many people that I can say are on the same wavelength as me, but it’s great to talk with someone who is. 🙂

It’s strange how some people can for whatever reason disappear from our lives, then in the blink of an eye, it’s like they’ve never been gone. Looking at the place I was emotionally back then, though.. He was a good friend through some of the darkest days of my life. He even put up with me going through opiate withdrawal from a back injury while we were living together. I can only hope that with us now being reconnected that I can be a friend who’s equally good to him.

Getting older is a strange experience. It seems like since around 20, it’s all been a blur. I still feel like I’m in my early 20’s, but my body is aging anyway. Not to sound like I’m an old man or anything, but I do have many gray hairs that I didn’t once have. And ear hair. I’m not sure when ear hair started, but if it continues to grow at this rate, I’ll be giving Yoda a run for his money. Should I be feeling older in my own head? At what point does one start to feel like a responsible adult? I mean, yeah, I do all of the responsible adult stuff every day, but I don’t feel older. I’m not in denial or anything. I’m not trying to avoid harsh realities, either. I just don’t feel like I’d assume one would feel in their late 30’s. I’m thinking my old roommate is in the same boat. Maybe it’s the not having kids thing for both of us. Who knows… It was great to have some company for a few hours, though.

Leave a Reply

