On another note.

I realize that most of the posts I have made here have been of the rant nature. I guess I could use introspection to think that maybe I’ve been kind of negative lately. Maybe I’ll explore that later. This morning am feeling pretty good, and I don’t want to drag myself down.

I’ve actually managed to get adequate sleep the last couple of nights. I think part of that is actually being home, sleeping in my own bed, and actually being able to spend some time with my wife. It seems that the doctors and therapists may be right; getting enough sleep can actually lead to some relief of depression. Who would’ve thought?

My wife is just finished up her first full week working in the pediatric ICU. I know I’ve made mention of her before, but I can’t express how deeply proud I am to be with such an intelligent, caring and beautiful person. She is by far, one of the strongest people I’ve ever known. There are no words for how much I truly admire her. She’s at work right now as I write this, and I have a lot to do today. She will be my thoughts though.

I’ll only be working for days this week, having surgery on Friday, then spending the following week recovering. I suppose I should be more nervous, but I’m not. The only thing that I’m really not looking forward to is the intense pain in the back of my throat and having to live off of popsicles for the better part of a week. Oh well, maybe a lose a few pounds in the process. 🙂

2 thoughts on “On another note.”

  1. I’ve always understood that sleep disturbances always affected me. I don’t like it when I don’t get enough sleep and it shows in my ablility to handle stress. But there are also times when I can sleep and sleep and sleep and still not get enough. I don’t know why that is.

    Glad to hear your wife got through her first week. I hope it went well for her.

    I guess I don’t know what the surgery is for. I will try and catch up with your blog. Best of luck with the surgery though. I hope you’ll not experience too much annoying pain afterward.

    Be well, friend.

    Casey

  2. I hope your throat op went well.
    Yes, sleep is a big factor in my feeling lighter with depression. I either get too little sleep for days on end, or I get too much.

Leave a Reply

