Ever have one of those days that you just feel defeated?

I’ve been working on this client issue on and off for about 3 months now. It was something started long before I was with the company by someone who quit over the holidays (too much travel – go figure). Then it was given to another person to handle that had a lot of experience with the software problem, but they’ve really dropped the ball. I don’t know the software that is at the root of the problem and it’s not intuitive. At all. I spent a good portion of the weekend reading the rather brief and sparsely detailed manuals, presumably written by someone like me that didn’t know the software either, then searching for service manuals in such. After probably 8 or 9 days on-site over the last 3 months, I’m not much farther than when I started the project. I’m sure I’d be able to figure it out given enough time, but I simply don’t have the time. I’d like to throw in the towel, but it’s not an option. Our two experts left the company before Christmas, so there’s no fall-back. Maybe I just need to jack myself up on amphetamines for a week and forego sleep. There’s not enough hours in the day…

In other news, it seems the dog misses my wife and I when we’re gone. I’ve been finding dirty laundry in one of his two beds, usually next to his favorite toy. They aren’t chewed or anything, just moved near where he sleeps or hangs out. Tonight I got home to my underwear and a t-shirt from yesterday in the middle of the living room floor, and two pairs of my wife’s panties at the top of the stairs (where he stands guard when we’re not home). He doesn’t just wag his tail when I get home, it’s more like his whole butt back and forth. It’s cute.

One thought on “Ever have one of those days that you just feel defeated?”

Leave a Reply

