I borrowed a coworker’s camera body to see if I like it or not. My old camera is about 12 years old now, so it’s time to think about getting something newer. I’d like to get a full-frame, but considering I’ve barely shot in the last 3 1/2 years, I just can’t justify the expense. A used 70D may be ok for getting back into it. At some point over the next few weeks I’ll decide if I want it, then talk with my wife about it.

I decided a good place to test the camera out was the local botanical gardens. Overall, I found it to be suitable for my type of shooting over the next few years. The dynamic range is good, noise level is acceptable at high ISO’s and the sharpness is close enough to what I’d like. The only drawback is that it’s not full-frame, but I just can’t justify the cost of one, even used.

I don’t typically shoot flora close-up, but rather landscapes, so the shots aren’t all that great. I’m really, really rusty. It’s like having to learn to shoot all over again. This was a good test for needing something quick and nearby, though.

In other news, the whole digestive ting is still pretty bad. I really, really hope they can find out what’s going on this coming Friday with the endoscopy. Over the last 7-10 days I’ve dropped 8 lb, and I’m not a physically active person. Eating is just such a miserable experience right now that I dread it. Either I feel like I’ll vomit, will vomit, have a lot of pain, or a mix of all 3 after I eat or drink anything. If I don’t eat or drink anything, I get horrible headaches and the burning in my stomach and chest becomes really, really uncomfortable/painful. It’s like a lose-lose. I’m eating enough to sustain myself enough to avoid headaches, but otherwise it’s a no-go.

Leave a Reply

