Professional courtesy 

Late yesterday afternoon one of the reps that I support didn’t check with me about availability and sent out a meeting invite to myself and the a customer’s senior management for mid afternoon today. I’m usually booked out weeks in advance, but for conference calls I usually am able to get one scheduled for before 9, after 4 or around lunchtime as I can use my lunch break and participate in the call. This is the second time in two months that this rep has done this, then was a real prick when I asked to reschedule. Yesterday was no exception. He’s also committed full on-site days at customers without checking with me first on several occasions. 

I support 9 offices spread out through the Midwest, hence my extensive travel. For those 9 offices I support 1 director each, roughly 10-20 reps depending on the size of the city it serves,, roughly 7-13 techs for each branch as well as hundreds of customers. I always follow up and always take care of things in a timely manner. This rep is the *only* one in 3 1/2 years that just doesn’t seem to get it.

I was professional in the email exchange that followed, but made it extremely clear that he’ll get 15 minutes of my time today, but no more.

I shouldn’t have to teach a man in his mid 50’s the concept of professional courtesy. I’ll be on the call so the company doesn’t look bad, not him. 

Leave a Reply

